What's the story for "evil" Druids?

Discussion in 'History and Lore 2' started by Lovestar, Sep 13, 2014.

1. Lovestar Active Member

Hey, sorry if this is really dumb / obvious, but yeah I'm new to the EQ lore so I have a lot of newbie questions the more I explore the game. :p

I notice the Druids are a Neutral class, and according to the Wiki they've always been a Neutral class. It's not split Good / Evil like Mystic / Defiler (or Templar / Inquisitor used to be).

This seems strange to me. I know in D&D-style lore, Druids are often very "neutral" in the literal sense — they don't care about either side in the conflicts of civilization, only the state of nature, the wild, etc. which is indifferent to the short-lived conflicts of the 'civilized' species.

But EQ2 is a little different because "true Neutral" would be like, Haven I think? Not most PC's, who are aligned with either Qeynos (classic Lawful Good, at least on the surface) or Freeport (classic Lawful Evil, more-or-less). And "Evil" in EQ lore seems rather overtly malicious.

Like with the other Priests you've got:
    • Inquisitor, which is fairly overtly a ruthless aggressive bastard out to make you suffer
    • Defiler, who is clearly malevolent / malicious in their ways, or at the very least "breaks the rules" of Shamanism as the 'good' see it by enslaving rather than calling — even if they're not "evil" per se, they're much more at home in Freeport for cultural reasons.
    It makes sense that both originally served Freeport only, because they're both kind of nasty and unwelcome in nicer company.

But all of the Druid spells, for both subclasses, seem to deal with replenishment, regrowth, nature, invoking Tunare's name frequently, etc. It seems like a fairly mild-mannered / well-adjusted class with a slight leaning toward "Goodness"; Fury may be more aggressive, but it doesn't contain overtones of malice or cruelty or violation.