What is up with Charm

Discussion in 'Mages' started by Spivan, Dec 26, 2017.

1. Spivan New Member

I have played sparingly over the past several years and knew the development team was concerned with how Coercers were using charm to solo many things that were not intended to be soloed. I get it was considerably OP in some situations.

I started playing again on the TLE server and rolled a coercer as I have one on live and enjoyed it.

^^^ mobs that I charm are getting one shotted by mobs three and four levels below them. I get that leaving them at full strength can be game breaking, but making them completely useless is going way to far.

At this point, why not give coercers Possess Essence at a much lower level than 65 and get rid of charm since they don't want it used?
  2. Rubick Well-Known Member

Every class has spells that are useless. They have much bigger fish to fry these days with the bugs in the game.
  3. Semperfifofum Well-Known Member

Not sure, I haven't played a coercer at low levels in quite some time. But I'm not sure that was the reason it was "broken" on purpose. I thought it was broken in the endgame because of that reason. They really don't care anymore about soloing heroics at lower levels, except maybe on TLE. The problem may only exist on that server. I certainly played a coercer and soloed all through nearly every quest in Nek Castle on-level with no chronomagic, but that was around 2012. It was wildly fun to duo with a beastlord/coercer team also... at low levels. Once at endgame, it was unlikely I could charm anything.