Weak, new lvl 90 coercer

Discussion in 'Coercer' started by ARCHIVED-Shon, Aug 23, 2011.

1. ARCHIVED-Shon Guest

I just started playing EQ2. I was RAF'd by a friend and powerlevelled to 90 leaving me with around 100 AAs and poor gear. He's been helping me with questing which is helping, but when I go out solo I'm struggling a fair bit at times. I try largely to follow the advice here and on eq2flames for rotation/etc, but theres an implicit assumption that we should be doing a fair bit more damage than I do.

Mainly, against solo mobs I pre-cast destructive mind, send in my pet, then forced hesitation (root), obliterated psyche, spell curse, then settle into a rotation thats basically hemorrhage, something, hemorrhage, something, etc reapplying reactives as they come up and preferring Asylum as my other DD spell when its up. The thing is, if forced hesitation holds all is well and I just take ages to kill things but its ok, but it seems like some mobs just break it almost instantly and things tend to go downhill fast. I use Medusa Gaze and my stuns to hold them still while I get some distance and reapply root, but I'm so squishy that if they get a couple swings in, I pretty much just die. Am I doing something wrong in this scenario? It'd be great if my pet could hold some aggro, but even using enraging demeanor on him, they switch to me as soon as the first reactive kicks in, let alone a DD spell. I did spend what plat I had on master forced hesitation in the hopes it would get resisted/broken less, and that seems to have helped a bit, but still sometimes gets broken really quickly.