Unique Raid Zones.. what happened?

Discussion in 'Zones and Population' started by ARCHIVED-xpraetorianx, Jun 22, 2012.

1. ARCHIVED-xpraetorianx Guest

So.. I was thinking back recently and started to wonder a bit. What happened to raid specific zones that were unique in and of themselves? Not a redo of a similar heroic zone with the same layout and nearly the same named mobs.
    Seems with recent expansions the norm has been to take an already created zone and just rehash it into a raid zone. What happened to the uniqueness and thrill of going into a raid zone and actually exploring it because you didn't already know the layout?
    I understand it may be do to the fact of time and resources and I get that. But, I can't be the only one that thinks back to these things. I started playing this game when it first came out and caught the raiding bug with the first level 50's on my server. So i have been around as far as EQ2 goes (been through EVERY raid zone). I know theres alot of players out there back from even eq1 raiding...
    A few expansions ago soe was talking about the "power of the reveal" when it came to game design during fan faire and creating unique experiences for each type of player. This was only 2-3 years but doesnt seem to have translated well with new developers and people leaving and/or getting new roles...ect.ect. Sure unique experiences have come in the form of gameplay but not really uniqueness in "where" you choose to play.
    Don't get me wrong though as I am enjoying raid content for the most part right now.. but when you take a step back and compare it to past efforts it doesnt really have that "new car smell" lately if you know what i mean.
    Maybe this will strike up some conversations about old raid zones people really liked and maybe thinking back to some of the more unique zones not copied from other zones that people really enjoyed.