The Big 2-0 and Wizard_286

Discussion in 'Warlock' started by ARCHIVED-Hurdoc, Dec 7, 2005.

1. ARCHIVED-Hurdoc Guest

Disclaimer: I am a veteran of other MMORPGs but relatively new to EQ2 with NO high level experience.

I started off thinking, "WOOT! YEAH! Warlock, baby!" and started this character but with level 20 approaching, and further research of the spell lines of each subclass, I'm feeling depressed. There are oodles of Wizards already and Warlocks are a little less common but my desire to be distinct is clashing versus my desire to have fun. Honestly, I don't want to be just another wizard like half the mage population but I can see why they're popular. Is the Warlock AOE spell line so overwhelming powerful that they get no interesting (useful?) utility function (e.g. Evac). I don't have a lot of time to play always and I'd hate to get to level 40 and regret not just going with the crowd and making a Wizard.
    Actually, I'm not sure if I'm looking for advice, venting, or just rambling... :smileyindifferent:
  2. ARCHIVED-XBrit Guest

Yes, after lev 50 Warlock AOE capabilities are fairly spectacular. I'd argue that they should at least get FD as a utility, though. Great way to bail out when aggro hits.

If you're interested in raiding, with the current state of class balance you're better off re-rolling a summoner. They outdamage sorcerors consistently in most fights longer than about 30 secs. Summoners are mana-efficient and can go flat-out or close for most of a raid fight, because the hate they get is divided between them and one or more pets. Whereas sorcerors have to manage power and have to throttle their damage to avoid aggro.

Between Warlock and Wiz, I'd guess that Warlocks are most welcome on raids. Their role as king of AOE is actually quite a valuable one... even Rangers and Bezerkers don't come close in this area. Wizards, on the other hand, are probably about the #4 single target dps, behind rangers, necros, conjurors.