Tanking with Mage Pet?

Discussion in 'Necromancer' started by ARCHIVED-Popgun, Dec 15, 2010.

1. ARCHIVED-Popgun Guest

Howdy, I am fairly new to my necro ( lvl 48 ), I have read often that the population says that it is more effective to use the mage pet for tanking. Is this true? If so, how should do my AA set up? Obviously have tainted heals, but what else? I must mention I have looked but I haven't look insanely hard, as I am at work. I would like to get this solved so I can respec when I get home after work.

Can anyone link me to a build or at least give me some guidance? It would really appreciated.
    Thanks alot, in advance.
  2. ARCHIVED-Rhadamanthys Guest

The mage pet does more damage and so it is easier for it to hold aggro. However, it won't be able to take hits from harder mobs like ^^^ named monsters. So in most cases, you can just use the mage pet to tank. As for AA, put them into the mage line of the summoner AA in order to allow the pet to do more damage. But you also need to put at least 8 points into Perceptor's Command down the stamina line in order to use any of your pets (in this case, the mage pet) to taunt mobs off of you. Overall, use the AA to beef up your pet so it can do more damage and hold aggro better.
  3. ARCHIVED-Triab Guest

Most of the time you're probably hearing about those doing over the threshold for dps. Tank pet can't tank once you cross that mark so useless at that point for the most part. If you get to that point, the mage pet isn't going to taunt it off you either..So keep him in offensive while you tank.

At your level, you should probably try mage pet while solo but most likely you're still going to need the tank pet. Mage pet always in groups/raids.