Server / Class suggestions

Discussion in 'Tips, Tricks, FAQs, and New Player Discussion' started by Dreorg, May 20, 2020.

1. Dreorg New Member

Hey, I'm an old EQ player and currently burnt out on WoW. Tried out EQ2 a little bit at release but only got into the low 20s. So I'm effectively a complete newbie even if I have fond memories of Norrath from original flavor EQ.

I need a distraction so I would like to try out EQ2. I paid for a subscription so I can pick whichever server I would like. I'm mostly into questing / exploring / crafting, and not really looking to raid. I'm not trying to level up quick - I plan to take my time to explore the different zones and quest lines.

While I enjoy being social in guild chat and contributing to a guild, I take care of my elderly mother, so I tend to avoid grouping because I don't have much control over when I have to go AFK for an extended period of time. Because of that, I'd like to be able to solo through instanced group dungeons if possible in order to further my exploration and questing.

So, I have a pair of questions. Based on the above, am I better off going to Kaladim or going to one of the live servers? And would the suggested classes be different?
  2. Breanna Well-Known Member

There is more stuff opened up on the live servers, like horses and flying, and travel. Not sure when all that opens up on Kaladim. Live servers also get guild halls which is a big convenience, it's like on stop shopping LOL Since you will mostly solo and not looking for groups I'd try live.

Welcome back to Norrath and Happy Hunting :)
    Raff likes this.
  3. Carynn Well-Known Member