Seeking advice for my Warlock, focusing on dots/triggers

Discussion in 'Mages' started by Semperfifofum, Aug 31, 2017.

1. Semperfifofum Well-Known Member

This is my warlock: http://u.eq2wire.com/soe/character_detail/2168961370953

I've been working on him for a few months since I returned to Norrath. I played him a lot more around 2012 when he was my "second main" for a while. I've started Epic 2 for him, but I need more factions to proceed. I'm currently around 292 Resolve and it's a big step to get into the 300s, so I'm seeking advice and tips. Currently I divide my time between Thallumbra and the Crafting timelines, whenever the faction grind gets too much. I also PG with him, but that's quick and simple.

ACT says my Enc dps for an advanced solo or solo (in the All category, it wouldn't mean much for one mob because it dies too quick) is around 50-70 million with spikes into the hundreds of millions. I'd like to figure out what I need to do (or have) to get to a 1 billion level. I imagine much of it is from Epic 2.

I use the "new2017harvest" AA tree right now. Which means I'm back to Toxic Assault. I prefer Occult bolt for soloing (one shots nearly anything) but I figure I should get used to the more grouping setup.

The past three days I've read more than I've played. I found a lot of advice about Warlocks and how to maximize damage. Here's what I've learned so far:

1. Gift of Bertox is essential

2. Spell efficiency is important (though I've yet to see an updated calculator for it, so if you know of one, I could use the link)

3. Triggering, the best ones are the ones that trigger a lot, not necessarily the highest damage per trigger

4. Miasma is disappointing even when buffed, I recently stopped putting points into it.