Rangers - A long lost Vision

Discussion in 'Scouts' started by CSP84, Jan 15, 2020.

1. CSP84 Well-Known Member

Hello,
    i am writing this now as i have become increasingly concerned and worried about the state of the Ranger Class. I believe this something to do with what the Devs vision for the class is and was and that has blurred.
    In comparison the vision for Assassins has always been T1 single target DPS and the counterpart to Wizzies.
    The outcome is that if you asked player about Assassins they would give the before mentioned description, however if you asked the player about the Ranger class people arent sure if we are T1, T2, Auto attack or now a pet class or what utility we bring to group and raid
    Lets go back in time in 2006 , when i started playing as a Ranger, we were T1 single target DDs but the difference to Assassins was that we were built around Auto Attack and Off - Stance instead of cast Chains.

Around 2010 Devs started to have the vision that if couldn't compete on T1 Single Target DPS to make us more of an AE DPS Class but not as good as Warlocks for example. So basically we are no High end single target nor High AE DPS Class back than.

After a long break Stats started to go up and everyone was became more or less a caster, even more so with Ascension Spells, but how would this translate to ranger whose combart arts and abilities have always been weak as we are suppose to be the Auto Attack class.
    Now in PoP Devs had a "Vision" for the class to "bandaid" or weak CAs with enormous Passive DPS, Heartseeker Hawk and Makeshift Arrows increased trigger. The only "active" part of the Ranger was to make sure both spells were on Ancient level.
    Before we go on and i want to point out that i do not Advocate or want an increased Makeshift Arrow as i wouldn't solve anything.