Question RE: Security fob

Discussion in 'Players Supporting Players' started by Simparri, Jan 10, 2018.

1. Simparri Active Member

I've been using one of the security fobs they sold for over 5 years with no problems. However, I find myself wondering how long the battery will last in it. If the battery goes dead is it one I can take the fob apart & replace once it does go dead?
    Cuelaen likes this.
  2. Cuelaen Well-Known Member

I was wondering this too.
  3. Cyrrena Well-Known Member

Personally, I would remove the need for it. I used to use one too and loved the extra security measure but since they cannot be purchased any longer as far as I know, I didn't want to try and log in one day to find out I was locked out because the fob didn't work for whatever reason.
    Xillean, Ceyllynn and Prissetta like this.
  4. Svenone Well-Known Member

I have fobs for EQ2 and Blizzard (Diablo 3), and never use the EQ2 one anymore. The D3 one gets used because I don't have to use it unless I play it using another computer (besides my main computer). Having to enter it everytime along with EQ2s tendency for crashing to desktop makes it too annoying to use for me. And, you know, the fear that it wouldn't work one day... The downside of the D3 one is that, when I do need it, I have to rummage through my just dwarer to find it.
  5. Simparri Active Member

I play on my laptop & keep the fob in a pocket of the case to avoid losing it<grin>. I Do like the system & can see many applications for it for general program/computer security use in general. I've wondered why I haven't seen it in wider usage as it seems so handy. Adding a fingerprint reader would be damned handy for most uses in general for security purposes.