Noob necro pet Qs

Discussion in 'Necromancer' started by ARCHIVED-bertoxx, Jan 3, 2009.

1. ARCHIVED-bertoxx Guest

Hey, I am new to EQ2 and have been having a blast so far leveling. I am a dark elf necro. I have a question about our pets.

All fighter pets are tanking/soloing pets correct?

All scout/mage pets are for groups/dps... which is the better of the two?

Where can I get adept/master ranks of pets?

Thanks in advance.
  2. ARCHIVED-Trensharo-EQ Guest

Back when I first trialed the game, I had to get all my Adept pets from the guild I was in. They were overly expensive in the auction. 100p for a tier 3 spell is kinda much :p Maybe prices went down since then.

You can also get some Adepts by killing named. They spawn a chest and sometimes you get a Necro Adept from it :)

Or you can have someone scribe/craft you one :)
  3. ARCHIVED-StPatrick Guest

You are correct in all your questions. As for which pet to use for grouping - that doesn't really matter. Most of the time I have been using only scout pet, but lately switched to Mage, think this is the pet most necros use in grouping too.
    About spells - you can make them if you like tradeskilling. Otherwise you will find yourself buying many spells. You primary pet spells (Fighter and Mage or Scout) should be as high as possible. Especially this goes to fighter pet if you are soloing. To earn money, you can harvest and sell - this is imho the fastest and easiest way to earn money in game. I personally prefer to craft - more fun for me, but that's your choice :)
  4. ARCHIVED-bertoxx Guest

Thanks for the replies ---

What is the difference between apprentice I - IV? I assume they are just overall better the higher they go?
  5. ARCHIVED-Trensharo-EQ Guest

They get better as you upgrade them (do more damage, more defense, etc.).