Newbie question about Templars

Discussion in 'Priests' started by samirish, Apr 19, 2017.

1. samirish New Member

Hi all,
    Im new to the game and have just signed up on the Stormhold server. I have played mmo's in the past and have always favored playing a healer. I have decided to roll a Templar. Is this a good healing class compared to the other healers? Would I be better off with one of the other healing classes? Since I have no real loyalty to any one class, I wanted to pick a healing class that is effective yet fun to play.
  2. Lil Mantis Member

Give the others a try as well and see which one you enjoy more.
  3. captainbeatty451 Well-Known Member

templar is a plate wearing caster healer who does minimal personal damage at low levels but is very defensive. you can single target heal like a madman, and HEALING/curing a group is great. protecting a group from incoming damage is also good until you get to the part of the game where the incoming damage is higher than the hitpoints of your squishier classes. it is at that point where the templar has a little bit of a struggle compared to something like a shaman. however, I don't know what that looks like on the stormhold server. the templar epic does add a full damage ward to the arcane ward, so that is nice if you're looking very very long term.

as far as soloing goes, templar is a very slow soloer until you get into things like proc weapons on the live servers.

So, defensive casting healer who is one of the strongest pure healers with great single target protection. I hope this helps.
  4. Daalilama Well-Known Member

any class you pick and learn and play it right will be an asset to any group....as was stated templars soloing at low levels can be a bit of watching the paint dry dps wise but once at higher levels a pure healing class with decent dps capability via the prestige line....
  5. Daalilama Well-Known Member

btw this comes from someone who leveled up 3 over the last decade