new to this game, Berserker DW or Buckler?

Discussion in 'Berserker' started by ARCHIVED-djisidore, Dec 10, 2007.

1. ARCHIVED-djisidore Guest

Hello, I am new to EQ2 and I have couple questions to ask. I have searched this forum already but I couldn't find answers to the questions I have.
    1. Do Berserkers need to have a shield to tank? The reason why I ask this question is that I played a warrior in EQ1 and WOW. I quit a month after SOV expansion came out, and in EQ1 warriors didn't need shields even when they tank raid bosses like CT, Innoruk, Tunare, Trak, VS and so on. There were little benefits of using shields, it was more important to do extra damage to get more aggro. But in WOW, you just can't tank without a shield period. So how is it like in EQ2? Do berserkers need to have a shield and go down to buckler AA line to be a tank? Or can berserkers still tank while they dual wield? (I know it would not be as effective as buckler line) The one reason I hate WOW about is that, in order to tank even normal dungeons, you need to have a shield and defensive speced. There was no versatility there. It is just impossible to tank dungeons mobs without a shield in WOW. Now in EQ2, I am not planning to be a main tank for raid bosses, but I may want to do normal dungeons. So can I still dual wield and tank?
    2. The heroic skills. In battle, you can initiate heroic movement and use chained actions by using correct skills right? My berserker is lvl 11 right now and he only has very simple combos. For example, heroic initiation -> attack skill -> taunt and the combo ends. As my lvl goes up, does that chained combos get more than that or does it stay as simple as like that?
    Hm.. i know my questions sound pretty stupid.... - _-
  2. ARCHIVED-Roache Guest

You can tank without a sheild -- it might just be a little more difficult.
    I dual weilded up until level 50-60ish -- feeling the same sort of way you do now -- I also played a warrior in eq1 --