New to EQ2, just need simple advice!

Discussion in 'General Gameplay Discussion' started by BigBlake, May 25, 2020.

1. BigBlake New Member

So I'm new to EQ2, never really gotten past lvl 10 in the past. Been an EQ1 player off and on. Anyway since I've gotten my new computer and monitor and can run everything on max graphics, EQ2 has been enjoyable and seems promising!

I'm a casual player, don't play much, currently on server skyfire. I'm having a tough time deciding between beserker, Conjurer, and Beastlord. I like pet classes really much, but I also love melee in your face AOE type classes. What do you all recommend for a casual player? Also do zerkers use 2handers? Currently just using a couple rusty 1 handers lol.

And on that note with the exp bonus on the server, I find i'm out leveling quests fast, should I switch to AA exp or just keep it on normal exp?

Thanks for the info all!
  2. Hartsmith Well-Known Member

As an alt'aholic who purchased the beastlord feature years ago, you'd think I could tell about it. Maybe if I could focus on just the one character, I'd be able to recommend it? LOL
    Berserker is definitely the best suited among the ones you are asking about for casual playing (very straight forward, me smash em character), and as for 2 handed weapons, as long as it says fighter, the zerker can use it. That being said, I have enjoyed Conjurer more so than the others, though I'll sometimes forget to summon my pet (alt'aholizm is what it is, lol).
    Regarding xp and AA, I recommend converting most xp to AA to prevent advancing too fast in levels if your focus is going to be to follow the stories, if you want them to continue to be challenging.
    BigBlake likes this.
  3. dorotea Well-Known Member

For pet classes the beastlord has the advantage that it is melee which you like. It is not one of the simpler classes to play which can be good or bad for you.