New Player: Swashbuckler vs. Brigand (Analysis Inside; Input Wanted)

Discussion in 'Swashbuckler' started by ARCHIVED-EQ2noob, Feb 15, 2008.

1. ARCHIVED-EQ2noob Guest

Dear EQ2 Players,
    I am brand new to EQ2. After 3+ years of World of Warcraft, I have made the leap of faith and decided to switch my hobbies from World of Warcraft to Everquest 2. I cannot describe how excited I am about the upcoming adventures and look forward learning, exploring and playing EQ2.
    I have spent probably a dozen of hours reading and studying the classes and tried playing a few to level 10 or so to see various styles. I believe the scout class is the class for me. Out of the four scout types, I have narrowed it down to two - Swashbuckler and Brigand. I was wondering what you would recommend for a new player. Here is what I know (please correct me if any of what is below is wrong).
    • Swashbucklers and brigands have the easiest time soloing out of all scout classes.
    • Swashbucklers and brigands do less DPS (by a noticeable margin) than Assassins or Rangers but bring more utility (group and solo).
    • Swashbucklers and brigands are welcome in groups as DPS/Utility and generally do not have hard time finding groups.
    • Swashbucklers and brigands have end-game raiding potential for their DPS/Utility and have a well-defined raid role (DPS + Debuff).
    Swashbucklers vs. Brigands
    • Less stuns.
    • Less useful debuffs.
    • Better ability to take blows (due to offensive debuffs).
    • SIGNIFICANTLY better ability to do damage to multiple targets.
    (What am I missing? What else distinguishes the classes?)
    Brigands vs. Swashbucklers
    • More stuns.
    • More useful debuffs.
    • Worse ability to take blows (due to defense debuffs).
    • SOMEWHAT better ability to do damage to single targets.
    (What am I missing? What else distinguishes the classes?)
    Questions: