New player looking for a tank class

Discussion in 'Fighters' started by Zerathule, Nov 15, 2013.

1. Zerathule New Member

Hi all :)
    It might seem strange, but for some reason, some friends and I have decided to move to EQ2, and see what content that game has to offer.
    The option to start at high level seems nice, as this would enable us to enjoy from start group content, and not be focused on XP and leveling grind.
    Anyway, with that in mind, i'm looking to build a tank in EQ2.
    Most information i can find seems dated, so maybe i can find on these boards, some helpfull players who can direct me towards up to date information :)
    I'm a former EQ1 player, and my first choice would go towards the monk class as i'm still nostalgic of those days :)
    But I've been playing tanks on various MMOs for the last 10 years, and i'm quite sceptical about the monk being a good tank, as relying on avoidance has never been a good strategy for a tank.

Are all fighters adequate tanks ?
    Do tanks find groups easyly ? and raiding spots ?
    Since i'm not planning to solo, what tank class would be the best choice for group/raid content ?
    Are all races fine to play tanks ? are there some races with an edge for tanking ?

Any answer would be of great help :)

PS : I'm an old time player. The "whatever class/race you like best" is not something i ever believed in :) I take pleasure in playing a well rounded char in a challenging content. If that means playing a midget in pink underpants dualwielding lolypops i dont care :p

PPS : i know i dont know the game yet. Starting close to max level will be challenging, but since i prefer high end gameplay, and hate level grinding, that's something i'm willing to try. Hope i wont make you guys wipe should you have me as a tank :)
  2. Estred Well-Known Member

- All fighters can tank Heroic. Despite the freakout about recent changes to Brawlers ours is still able to MT Raids just fine.