New Player-ish... looking to get started

Discussion in 'Tips, Tricks, FAQs, and New Player Discussion' started by Saints, Feb 26, 2018.

1. Saints Member

Greetings friends! I'm looking to possibly jump in to EQ2, but need some feedback.

I started MMOs in 2003 with EQOA, from that point branching out and trying everything and with much addiction. EQ1, WoW, EQ2, FFXI,DDO, LOTRO, Vanguard, etc, etc, etc. The ones I've gotten into have been some of the best gaming experiences ever, and they easily grew into all-consuming completionist/do all quest/hardcore endgame/raids/experience everything style play. I love it, and miss what most MMOs today have grown into. Any vets of the genre know exactly what I'm talking about.

Sadly, I've never had the chance to really get in to Everquest 2. I have probably about 10 hours played, have a couple characters, did a few starter zones, but beyond that I'm just a newbie.

Today I stumbled on these forums and then found info about the Time Locked servers, they look fantastic! The latest server, Fallen Gate, opened up in June and now a few months in and wonder if I can get in and actually catch up to content, or maybe I'm better off just waiting for the next time this happens.

Alternatively, I could just play on one of the older servers out there, but with all the content in the game it may not bode well for someone like me that really want to experience it all. Though dungeon finders and stuff might be nice for a newbie.

Any insight and help is greatly appreciated, thanks for taking the time to read (or at least skim) through this!
    Rigs likes this.
  2. Meneltel Well-Known Member