Necromancer aggro management

Discussion in 'Necromancer' started by ARCHIVED-MoochBB, Sep 2, 2010.

1. ARCHIVED-MoochBB Guest

I've been playing EQ for several months now and have made it to level 90, playing 99% solo.
    While leveling to 90, I did an pet-based AA build. Once I made 90, I respecced to a more group friendly build.
    After respeccing, I've found that casting 1-2 spells (ie soulrot, lifetap, etc) I take aggro from my pet everytime. I've also had problems aggro management problems in groups. I have master level pets, and I'm geared 80% legendary/20% T2 fabled. I also have a -10% hate mod which doesnt seem to help at all, and also use bewilderment.
    Any ideas on how I can better manage aggro solo and in groups, other than standing around looking stupider than usual?
  2. ARCHIVED-Xalmat Guest

If you're soloing with your mage pet, put it in Defensive.
    In a group, you're going to have aggro problems unless your tank is either really kick butt, or you and your tank have aggro management buffs (troubador for dehate, coercer/dirge for hate, assassin/swashbuckler for hate transfer, etc)
  3. ARCHIVED-PotatoeGuru Guest

MoochBB wrote:
    I firmly believe (but alas cannot prove) that hate gain/aggro was changed with GU57 and I've also noticed that Bewilderment (fully max points spent) doesn't quite often seem to make a dent. Like you, I have the -10 hate AA.
    The only way I've been able to survive is cast less and let the pet tank more/use Tainted Heal AA. Is takes a bit longer to kill stuff, but it works.
  4. ARCHIVED-NewbJoe Guest

Brigh@Guk wrote:
    Also, in recommendation of the Tainted heals AA line. You might want to spec down the Staminia Summoner tree for for