Necro or Summoner?

Discussion in 'Mages' started by EQOArabidfan, Jul 21, 2015.

1. EQOArabidfan Member

I'm still pretty new to EQII and was wondering what class i should take into the time locked server today. I'm either going to roll a Delf Necro or a Gnome Summoner. I had one of each in EQOA way back before we got shut down and i love pet classes. What are the pro's and con's of each? I'm guessing Necro can solo better due to life taps? I've no idea. Thanks!
  2. Ucala Well-Known Member

A summoner is a necro, so..
  3. EQOArabidfan Member

I meant conjuror. I'm used to them being called Mage. But since it's been changed as an overall classification and not a class i got it twisted.
  4. Luciuz Active Member

It depends, I'm guessing whichever was better of the two during that time.
  5. EQOArabidfan Member

I'll most likely roll both to be honest lol. That and an Illusionist.
  6. DarkMethods New Member

I'm in the same situation as you.

Someone told me both are great levelers / soloers. The conjuror tends to have more group damage spells, and the necro single target damage. At least this is what I was told. Necro sounds more versatile however as far as utility.
  7. Dixa Active Member

we are talking tle right?

boils down to goodie or evil really.

leveling up they are mostly the same early on, at 20 is when they diverge.

both will get two class nukes and a class encounter nuke, both get vampire bats, both get health to power abilities although necros is over time and gives slightly more. both have cure. both have pet heals but the necro one is a hot and heals for very slightly more. necro pet defensive stance is a damage shield that heals the pet for a tiny amount on hit. conjuror defensive stance has a regenerating tiny ward but no damage shield. both defensive stances generat extra threat when hit.

key differences 1-20:

Level 5 - both get a root. necro's root fears when it breaks, conjuror's snares