Necro efficiency/utility/damage/lvl50 concerns revisited

Discussion in 'Necromancer' started by ARCHIVED-El Chupacabras, Aug 12, 2005.

1. ARCHIVED-El Chupacabras Guest

For those in the know, I've been posting about those topics for the last five months or so, hoping to get some resolution to these problems... so, what's really changing in the combat revamp and how do we compare to other mages?

These are the original threads:
    Necro efficiency: http://eqiiforums.station.sony.com/...rd.id=30&message.id=5205&query.id=22299#M5205
    Necro utility/damage: http://eqiiforums.station.sony.com/...ellart&message.id=48724&query.id=22358#M48724

I would have thrown this into Deson's thread though I'm going to go beyond just utility and into direct comparisons of some of the classes main abilities.

Necromancer efficiency pre-combat change:

Skinrot: 2.2 Damage Per Power (DPP from now on)
    Siphon Life: 2.4 DPP
    Ghastly Stench: 4.5 DPP
    Deaths Coil: 3.2 DPP
    Pet: Approximately 4.6 DPP (Yes, pet buffs used to use power, alot of it!)
    Average: 3.4 DPP

Necromancer efficiency post-combat change:

Skinrot: 8.2 DPP
    Siphon Life: 8.8 DPP
    Ghastly Stench: ? DPP
    Deaths Coil: 19.8 DPP
    Pet: No power really required
    Average: 12.3 DPP

So, what's this mean to us?

Necro efficiency has been fixed, our DPP (total damage/power=DPP) is now at a reasonable level when compared to the other mages. Our pet tap is going down but it should be reasonable when compared to the improved efficiency of the class.

Necromancer damage:

This is just a chain I threw together to exploit recast timers whenever I could. Chaining is a little tougher now due to those long recast/duration spells we have now. The five second DoT of skinrot makes it a little rough, too.
    • +1 Horrific Mark
    • +3.5 Swarm of Bats
    • +6 Plague of Rats
    • +9.5 Stench of the Grave
    • +11 Death's Coil
    • +13.5 Skinrot
    • +16 Siphon Life
    • +18.5 Skinrot