Monk vs SK

Discussion in 'Tips, Tricks, FAQs, and New Player Discussion' started by select20, Aug 27, 2017.

1. select20 Member

Looking to level up one of these toons. I'm using my uncle's account since he's got all these vet awards lol. I'm brand new to the game and i like playing tank classes. These two, lore wise, have drawn my attention. For leveling I'll be questing and hitting all the dungeons I can. I like soloing and from what I understand, there are companions you can level with.

So my question, which of these two will quest/molo dungeons better? Which of these two is more "eq2 newb tank" friendly?

Lastly, for what I'm doing, which companion would suit me best?
  2. oldskool Active Member

All classes are over powered for adventuring up to maybe the previous expansion. You could solo the game up to that point with any class.

That said, of the two you mention, SK would be best due to aoe spells which will allow you to clear dungeons incredibly fast.

Add an Inquisitor Merc and you'll fly through the game.
    Semperfifofum likes this.
  3. select20 Member

Nice, thanks for the reply!
  4. Semperfifofum Well-Known Member

I have an SK level 100 and love it. There are some new (within the last couple of years) threat problems with SK in comparison with Pally, but if you ever decide you want to be in a heavily grouping guild at level 100, or even raid, you can betray to Pally if needed. Try to decide whether to betray before you master all your skills from level 90+ though, or regrets will be larger. With any tank, consider woodworker or alchemist for a craft. The totems/potions/consumables can get expensive at high levels, and are mostly unavailable on the broker for lower levels.Food at max level is also expensive, so Provisioner is another good choice. Welcome to Norrath! :)
  5. Vunder Well-Known Member

As long as you don't feel like ever becoming a main tank past heroics...SK are great for soloing and killing quickly.