Monk vs Bruiser. I would love to have some help.

Discussion in 'Fighters' started by Rolf, Jul 26, 2013.

1. Rolf New Member

Hello fellow E2 players, I'm an old player who is coming back to Everquest, I quit playing around when DoF came out, so you can say I'm quite new to this new(old) game.

So I've spent a couple of hours searching for information but most seemed out-dated to me.
    As far as I can tell Monk and Bruisers are quite similar, but with various small differences.

Since I started, I've leveled a Bruiser to 30 and planning to do so with a Monk as well to form my own opinion on the matter. But would also love to hear from others what they think.

So in this post I would really love for some advice from people that have higher experience on playing either or both, and explain to me why they like their Brawler class, what sets them apart from each other and which task they excel at.

So far I've really enjoyed soloing dungeons for awesome fabled loot and fun times with a healer mercenary, and I plan on diving into pvp soon as well!
    Thank you, for your time on reading and replying to the post.

Rolf.
  2. Silzin Active Member

Monks are very Single Target and should be a bit more survivable. the bruiser is a bit more AoE based. monks rely of 100% avoidance abilities and a temp mit buff, where bruisers have a Stoneskin proc that helps with their passive survivability.
    Everdog likes this.
  3. Netty Member

Monks are not very single target... they are supose to be but they are not. Infact monks have bigger range on all of their aoe:s vs the bruiser..
    Davngr likes this.
  4. Priority Well-Known Member

Silzin is one of the worlds foremost authorities on tanks in general. Arguing is an exercise in futility.
  5. Davngr Well-Known Member

monk is a better tank for group/raid in both survivability and damage both single and aoe targets unless you plan on having the mythical cloak on your bruiser.