Itemization Complaint

Discussion in 'Items and Equipment' started by Koko, Jan 23, 2015.

1. Koko Well-Known Member

Forward
    This post is heavily biased. I model highly complex systems for a living, I play EQII as a hobby. I treat EQII as a highly complex mathematical system and I find fun in solving it. Once it stops being a highly complex system, or becomes a system where most parameters do not matter, it stops being fun for me.

EQII has many methods of customization (alternate advancements, adornments, reforging, gear, and casting order), likely more than any other online game. Some players use this customization aspect competitively, does this "build" work better for this encounter, script, zone, etc. Many players take pride in their ability to discern customizations that work well, or finding the "best" customizations. I am one of those players.

Most of these customizations no longer matter.

With single items producing orders of magnitude of powerful stats/effects (e.g. CB, P, WDB, very large damage procs etc.) the choices players make in AAs, adornments, reforging, and even casting order are simply insignificant. Currently, the "power" of a character degrades to a few key pieces of jewelery. Last expansion, two such items were Ring of Uplifting Swings and Dreadscale Band, and characters with these items were "on a different level" than those without. With the introduction of Fabled Deathtoll, jewelry power levels increased exponentially, enough to drive me away from the game (at the time I thought it was permanently).