Is it time to merge Maj'Dul... into somewhere else?

Discussion in 'General Gameplay Discussion' started by Cusashorn, Jun 5, 2020.

1. Cusashorn Well-Known Member

The Maj'Dul server has crashed... I wanna to say around a full dozen times in the last couple of months, and I'm never hearing of such issues happening to other servers.

I admit I have zero knowledge of computer networking, but this seriously makes me wonder if the actual physical hardware used to house the server should be looked at.. and if perhaps it's time to merge Maj'Dul's server data into another server and replacing the hardware.
  2. dirgenoobforreal Well-Known Member

Most servers crash at least once or twice a week now and raid lag is not really getting any better either. Its odd because the game has never had this few players either.
  3. Bhayar Well-Known Member

Someone made the observation earlier that maybe it was time to clean up the forums. There's years old postings that are no longer relevant or add anything of value. Maybe if we trimmed the fat off the content in the forums and only kept the most recent and relevant material, that might save some wear and tear. You look at some of the material in there and it's gotta be sucking up a lot of storage space. Not least of which is much of it adds nothing to the what is actually going on in the game today.

For example, General Chat is 780 pages, the earliest dated 2012. Wonder how much of that could be cleaned out and save the hamsters.
    Breanna likes this.
  4. Erudinel Conceptualized a turd in a toilet sometime in 2005

The forums have nothing to do with raid lag, game lag, or the servers crashing...
    Avithax and Mermut like this.
  5. Ra'Gruzgob Well-Known Member