How does healing threat work?

Discussion in 'General Priest Discussion' started by ARCHIVED-Soft, Sep 8, 2010.

1. ARCHIVED-Soft Guest

Bah. I can't find anything on this topic. I'm sure some of you veteran players know the answer.

Is there a threat radius (meaning that standing at max range causes less threat than standing within 20 or 30 yards of a mob)?

Does OH cause threat?

Does direct healing cause a higher threat percentage than say what is being put forward by dps or buffing characters?

Is healing threat an AOE base across all mobs that are engaged?

Does pre-casting (warding before a pull or HOTS) cause threat to where it should be held off on until a tank has engaged a rather than having just pulled the mobs? -- I mean by this that a tank pulls and if they're warded and hoted up, are the mobs going to zoom right past them to the healer?

Are there any other threat mechanics that should be of concern?

Thanks! =)
  2. ARCHIVED-Mendou Guest

I'm rather new to healing but from what I learned from experience:
    IF the tank body pulls (ie. gets close enough to get mob's attention but does not hit or taunt it) you will pull agro if anything you pre-cast on the tank procs (ward, HoT, Reactive, buff with a proc, etc). I learned this from having a HoT active on the tank (got agro), having Thornskin or Regenerating Spores on the tank and it procs (mob gets a hit in on tank, proc activates, then mob makes a beeline to me), Having Instinct (dps buff) on the tank (he said it grabs agro) so I put it on myself or a melee dps class instead. Also, if you're trying to DPS and heal, maybe back off the DPS to compensate.
    IMO, ask your tank if they want you to preheal/prebuff. If they're not body pulling, though it shouldn't be as much of a problem. Especially if someone has a hate transfer on you to help out. In the end if you're doing your job keeping the tank up, he needs to do his job and protect you in turn.