Hi there! New player here. :)

Discussion in 'Tips, Tricks, FAQs, and New Player Discussion' started by Tawnee, Dec 16, 2012.

1. Tawnee New Member

Well, hello there everyone. :) My name is Tawnee, and I am new to Everquest II. The game looks like a lot of fun though, and I am excited to begin. Does anyone have any advice on what class, race and/or server I should choose? I like playing DPS type classes, preferably one that is capable of soloing quite well, as I don't know anyone who plays EQII. But I'm definitely looking forward to meeting new people. Anyway, cheers and thanks in advance for any helpful comments!
  2. Ivory Member

What type of DPS do you prefer? Melee or Ranged?

Race doesn't make that much difference. Play a Race that you find visually appealing. Each class has its own advantages but they don't make much difference when it comes to end game.

All classes are more than capable of soloing almost all content. With a Merc, it becomes even easier.
  3. Regolas Well-Known Member

The best soloers are generally tank classes. The ones that do the most dps are brawlers (monks/bruisers), shadowknights and beserkers.

If you have the AoD expansion, beastlords are a dps class that's very powerful.

All classes can solo mobs designed to be soloable. Group content gets trickier but some classes have easier times.
  4. Sigrdrifa EQ2 Wiki Author

Lord love em, but tanks are just about the slowest, most pitiful soloers anywhere, and they DEFINITELY are not DPS classes.

Our DPS classes are scouts and mages. The big DPS are beastlords, followed by assassins and wizards. Swashbucklers, rangers, brigands, warlocks, conjurors and necromancers tend to be the next tier of damage-dealers. The bards (troubador and dirge) and enchanters (illusionist and coercer) we consider support classes, though they don't do near as much DPS.