Go Berserk!

Discussion in 'Berserker' started by ARCHIVED-Wiseman160, Dec 17, 2007.

1. ARCHIVED-Wiseman160 Guest

Warriors, we meet again.

I have been berserking since 2004, and since then we have seen quite a few changes.
    I'm not here to whine about nerfs at all. Many of our nerfs were very appropriate.

There were the days in which there were clear differences between berserkers and guardians. At the time, the only real reason to play guardian was raiding, because their depressingly low DPS made soloing and small grouping a chore - but in raids they could be buffed to literal invincibility.

We berserkers at the time had great toughness but there was a visible difference between our tanking ability and that of guardians. We made up for this with DPS, meaning that we were the choice for small groups.

Months and years have passed, and we have been chipped away at little by little until now there aren't too many differences between us and guards. Guards do better single target damage than we do, while we still hold reign over AoE melee. In the end our survivability is reasonably balanced with guards, although they still come out with an edge in raid situations.

I'm perfectly okay with this.

Now on to the present!

Going berserk!
    Right now - going berserk doesn't mean much. If you parse us when we're berserk versus when we're not there is a statistically significant difference between our damage ratings before end game. However you really do have to parse us to find this difference. I can't tell when I'm berserk unless I look at the little icon.

At high levels we're berserk for about 95% of any given battle, and this fact is taken into consideration when balancing our DPS (as it should be).

The problem is that going berserk is not noticeable at all. When a warrior goes into a berserker frenzy it should be kind of a big deal, right?