Conjuror vs. Necromancer

Discussion in 'General Gameplay Discussion' started by ARCHIVED-EQ2noob, Mar 25, 2008.

1. ARCHIVED-EQ2noob Guest

Greetings All!
    I know this question has been asked before and I have done my homework on the subject, but a lot of information that I see is quite outdated and I thus would like to bring this up again. Please bear with me and I appreciate your help.
    I am quite new to EQ2 and am having a hard time deciding a necromancer and a conjuror.
    Conjuror:
    • Stronger Pets;
    • Frigid Winds (strongest snare in the game);
    • Strong encounter-wide damage;
    • Call of the Hero.
    Necromancer:
    • Weaker Pets;
    • Tainted Heals;
    • Strong single target damage (though takes a while to ramp up due to DoT effect);
    • Rez/FD.
    Is the above more or less right? Now to my questions:
    Are both wanted in groups? Who is wanted more?
    Are both wanted in raids? Who is wanted more?
    Which one is stronger at soloing heroics/named mobs?
    What would you recommend to a new player? (My only other character is a level 30 brigand - who I love and with whom I soloed named ^^^ level + 2 heroics - but constant positioning gets boring.)
    Thank you in advance.
  2. ARCHIVED-Drash Guest

EQ2noob wrote:
    I'd recommend that you try them both of them and decide for yourself which one you like better.
  3. ARCHIVED-Solaran_X Guest

Welcome to the hidden world of EverQuest. Everyone Else v. Necromancers v. Conjurers. There are 22 classes in EQ2 who think Necromancers are EZMode and overpowered and should be nerfed daily (nevermind that we've been getting nerfed pretty much nonstop since LU13 and we're now going on GU44). Necromancers just point at Conjurers and talk about how they're head and shoulders above Necromancers. And Conjurers just sit there and laugh because they know they're better than us...and no one believes us when we say they are.