Brand new player.

Discussion in 'Tips, Tricks, FAQs, and New Player Discussion' started by jwalker524, Dec 16, 2012.

1. jwalker524 New Member

Hello everyone,

I just started playing, and decided to get a gold membership, at least for a month to try things out. I have not purchased the AoD or CoE expansions yet, and I don't know if I will unless I decide to stick around for good. I have tried out a couple of classes so far, Dirge, Defiler and a Necromancer, I've not gotten anything past about 11 yet, so I don't have much experience. The games seems quite complex already, and I suppose it gets more so, which is ok by me. I played the first EQ back in the day, but this seems nothing like it. So I'm here to ask for some advice.

Firstly, as far as classes go, I figure I will probably be soloing up to about 90 or so (and then if I get the xpacs) before grouping starts to become the norm. I don't mind soling my way up, but at max level I would like to do group content, perhaps even raid. Is it best then to roll a support class? Since that seems like fun to me, healing seems ok too, except that healers are expected to DPS as well. Anyway my main question is that if I roll something like a Necro or Conjurer, or other DPS class, will I be able to find a guild and do group content? Or would it be much too hard to break in at this point in the game? Would it just be better to roll something useful?

Also I was wondering about leveling, as far as adventure levels go, is it best to quest or just grind? Or quest up to a point and grind the rest of the way up? I'm just not sure. Also is crafting necessary? Or can I get away with not worrying about it for now? And with crafting, is gathering an important thing?

Oh, and is good or evil an important choice? I have done both, but like I said haven't really gotten anywhere in the game yet, so starting over again is no worry.