A newbie question.

Discussion in 'Tips, Tricks, FAQs, and New Player Discussion' started by Thamior, Nov 21, 2012.

1. Thamior New Member

I am not new to the world of norrath first off (played EQ1 and EQOA for many years), but I am new to EQ2. My question is is mc gear better then quest gear? I am currently a lvl 18 monk with lvl 12 mc gear how long should I keep it?
  2. Cenen of Permafrost Member

Welcome to EQ2! Each piece of equipment is different. You should look at the stats and judge for yourself. In general, MC gear is about the same as Legendary gear of the same level. Keep in mind that you must be two levels into your tier before you can use the next set of MC gear. That is, you can you the next level of MC gear at 22, then at 32, then at 42, etc.
  3. Kalderon Well-Known Member

Depends on your playstyle, but i would say, dont keep it for to long as the armor losses if enemys beyond 10 lvl of the gear (if soe didnt patched that out)
  4. flameweaver Well-Known Member

Whilst MC gear is better, unless you're making your own it can get hugely expensive. If you have access to a merc (need Age of Discovery pack) then in all honesty I'd recommend sticking with quested or even handcrafted gear. If you level quickly buying new MC gear every 10 levels just becomes a plat sink. By the time you get into your 60's there's a nice quest series - that's easy to solo - that will give a full set of class specific gear and add's additional stats for the more pieces you have equipped. This will last you till you're in you 80's and working through The Sundered Frontier/Stonebrunt Highlands, DoV and CoE expansions all of which will provide you with Legendary and Fabled Gear opportunities.
  5. OverDoze Member