A few questions about summoners

Discussion in 'Mages' started by Donaven, Feb 10, 2014.

1. Donaven New Member

I'm new to the game (been playing a couple of weeks). What is the difference between the two summoner classes? Based on what I'm seeing in game, it feels like I see about 5 necromancers for every conjuror I see. Is that just coincidence or is there a commonly known reason for that?

My second question is: What sort of mercs do you prefer with your summoner? Do you use a tank merc with your dps pets? Or do you use a healer merc with your tank pets?

When considering playing a mage, I like the idea of playing a summoner. However, I could also see myself playing a sorcerer. I know that sorcerers are doing more damage in general in raids in the metagame from reading these forums. However, I have no intention of ever raiding. I do enjoy doing smaller dungeons, I prefer soloing dungeons and challenging content. Based on this knowledge of myself, is there a reason I should choose to play a sorcerer over a conjuror?

Thanks.
  2. Shazzer New Member

My main is a Conj, and has been since a few months after launch. Game mechanics have changed so much since my Conj was a baby, so ymmv. Back in the days before mercs I soloed with my mage pet unless a mob was a good few levels above me and then I'd use my tank pet. Since 80+ though I've always used my mage pet. The mage kills much faster than the tank (and the scout pet is useless). At 95 in ToV, if I solo and need a merc, I use the Inquisitor (Stamper) from Freeport.

Granted I have little to no basis for comparison, but I love my Conj. I have raided and soloed with her over the years, and I've loved trying things that should get me killed but don't. I adore having pet who can hold agro while I blast away.