4 Year Vet Reward npc cheering

Discussion in 'Look and Feel' started by ARCHIVED-Barq Bandit, Mar 30, 2011.

1. ARCHIVED-Barq Bandit Guest

I'm a new adventurer, strolling the streets of Qeynos, looking for things to do.
    Need someone to carry that package to Nettleville? Looking for someone to go fetch you a new broom? Need ten rats slain? No problem! I'm just starting out, but I can certai-
    ...Why are you cheering at me? Looking, it's nothing really. I'll just go and get this d-
    Would you please stop that. It's really rather disconcerti-
    Why is this other person cheering at me also? Look, I'm all for being cheerful and welcoming but this is-
    Okay, now that whole group of people are all cheering at me. In perfect unison, too. This is nuts.
    Why is this happening? Am I dreaming? *pinch* No... Not dreaming...
    Perhaps I've done something incredibly brave and I don't know it yet... I don't recall slaying any dragons...
    Oh, come on! The baker, too? Leave me alone!
    Is it something in the water? Have you all gone insane?
    Why won't anyone explain this to me?!

I've just finished testing the veteran rewards for the much-maligned (at least among roleplayer circles) npc cheer flag. Turns out that the [Veteran Reward - 4 year] package is the culprit. Just claiming it doesn't do anything, but unpacking it causes the character flag to be set. Or perhaps it's receiving a particular item within the package that sets the character flag.

Whatever the cause, the reason I bring this up is that although the cheering was cute at first, it's now gotten to the point that having random ecology and merchant npcs everywhere in every city, regardless of alignment differences, whip around to cheer at my characters silently, in entire synchronized groups no less, has grown extremely tiresome.