My thank you message.

Discussion in 'General Gameplay Discussion' started by Sweety D, Sep 19, 2022.

1. Sweety D Well-Known Member

TL;DR: I owe a lot to EQ. Thank for you the many years of fun.

Recently my teenage daughter asked me “dad, why do you and uncle Kenny still play this silly old game.” It got me thinking…

I’ve been playing EQ since 1999 and EQ2 since launch in 2004. I’ve taken a few, multi-month breaks over the years. But for the most part I’ve been here for all 23 years, which is over half of my life. I have never been your stereo-typical gamer. This is really the only game I play. I love sports, yet I can’t stop playing EQ. Why?

So back to my daughters question. I opened an old photo album and show her photos from 20 years ago at a family reunion. The photos were me and her 4 uncles and mother all playing EQ in 1 room with 6 computers all on the kitchen table. I went on to show her many more such events over the years. My family (and some friends) have turned family events and holiday into gaming sessions for over 20 years. To this day, we still do this.

Nostalgia is certainly part of the reason I still love the franchise, but also EQ is forever connected to me and many family memories that I will forever cherish. And I genuinely feel EQ2 is the best mmo out today.

I say all this because I hope someone from the EQ team will read this and feel good about their work. I myself am a software engineer (I don’t make games), and sometimes I feel like making software is not really helping the world. Let’s be honest, you’re (we) not curing cancer. But still, you’ve given me and my family decades of fun and put smilies on many faces.

Thank you DayBreak staff, for continuing a franchise that puts smiles on people faces.
    Feara, Forestchild, Lateana and 25 others like this.
  2. ttobey Makes the Monsters Move

I made sure everyone read this. Thanks!
    Feara, Dude, Forestchild and 14 others like this.
  3. Accendo Guest