Newbie Here needs Suggestion

Discussion in 'Tips, Tricks, FAQs, and New Player Discussion' started by Metrocubo, Jan 22, 2017.

1. Metrocubo New Member

Hi all, I've just downloaded the game and I am impressed by the number of races and classes.
    I like to build a Troll Beastmaster or a Dwarf Berserker, but I don't know if are a good choice for a newbie and if are useful in a party.
    Pls can U suggest me who is better?
    Or if U think I should play another combination class-race U are welcome.
    Thx all.
    Uwkete-of-Crushbone likes this.
  2. Crastinal Active Member

Hello, and welcome to Norrath!

A Dwarf Berserker is a great choice for a beginner, it's a super fun class to play, pretty straight forward, and if you choose to start in New Halas the starter questline has a very smooth learning curve to understand the game mechanics. Great choice!

The Beastlord, though is not the best choice for beginners, because it expects you to pay very close attention to some aspects of the game that beginners usually don't know much about: alternate advancements, stances, manage different pets -- finding them like a pokémon master and then leveling them. It is one of the most gratifying classes to play with, but it can get overwhelming. Also the class is premium, meaning that you have to purchase it separately (like the Channeler, and the two premium races; Aerakin and Freeblood). I wouldn't recommend as your first class, to learn how to play unless you have a supporting guild to help you along the way. After you understand how to build your own alternate advancement tree? Go for it!

The Berserker usually is a tank (some brave few people play it as a dps class) and like any tank is very much useful. The tank is the most important member of the party, protecting others from taking damage. You will always find a group playing a Berserker.