Player Studio items I've created

Discussion in 'Norrathian Homeshow' started by Rawl, Mar 5, 2013.

1. Merriel Well-Known Member

I have no idea, but then I'm not very good with puzzles either. :D
    Ocarinah and Uwkete-of-Crushbone like this.
  2. Rawl Well-Known Member

images from left to right south pole, north star, sundown, sun rise. since I can't use letters, I had to figure out something as a pictograph that people might recognize to represent the cardinal compass points. south, north, west and east.
  3. Uwkete-of-Crushbone Well-Known Member

Ah, excellent! So my second theory was correct, but the North/South thing puzzled me. Very clever! :)

Uwk
    Merriel, Ocarinah and Rawl like this.
  4. Rawl Well-Known Member

I'm hoping people know what those 4 things are on a real weather vane, so they can guess at what the symbols are suppose to mean. :)
  5. Uwkete-of-Crushbone Well-Known Member

Well, yeah, there is that...not sure how many folks nowadays even know what they are. :-/

On the other hand, we do have a lot of folks that remember the 20th century, at least a little, so it's possible. ;->

For those folks 15 years and younger...

This is a weather vane, a fairly fancy one, with a wind speed indicator as well as a wind direction one. It works by having the arrow and/or the top thingee catch the wind; the arrow points to the direction the wind is going to, and the compass points (S-E-N-W here) indicate where the wind is coming from (correct me if I'm wrong, Rawl; it is quarter to 3 am after Turkey Day):
    [IMG]

Another variation; I'm guessing the rest of those thingees spin, turn, etc.:
    [IMG]

A very cute one (one of my personal faves):
    [IMG]

Who here remembers Mary Poppins?:
    [IMG]

As you can see, these can get quite fancy (seriously; Google "weathervane" or "weather vane" and look at the images you get! :)), and were used by our ancestors before the Weather Channel was available. ;)

Uwk
    Merriel and Ocarinah like this.