A First Look at Drakkinshard, LON Set 16

Discussion in 'News and Announcements' started by Amnerys, Aug 9, 2013.

1. Amnerys Member

by Dave Smith, TCG Lead Designer

[IMG]

I am really excited to be taking over the position of Lead Designer of Legends of Norrath. As a designer, I really see my job as empowering player choices, not just tactically inside of a match, a place where LON excels, but also at the level of deck creation. This is my goal, not just for this set, but for the future as well.

With this in mind, a lot of the new inclusions are aimed at strengthening aspects of the Standard Environment that, based on our tournament data as well as conversations with experienced players, are currently somewhat underrepresented. Both fans of fast UVA decks and Questers should find a host of new tools at their disposal, as well as some old stand-bys that we are reprinting for use in Standard. A number of other cards, and in particular a new series of Quests which we will be previewing today, have robust combo potential.

Don’t worry AVA and direct damage fans – there are also a number of new cards intended to amplify these strategies as well!

Storyline
    Since I know how much many of you like playing single player, I am also happy to announce that we will be offering a full eight scenarios for Drakkinshard!

Set in the world of EverQuest, the tale of the Drakkinshard recounts the adventures that ensue when a piece of the dead god Cazic-Thule lands in the Serpent’s Spine mountains, and is discovered by an ambitious Drakkin mage by the name of E’drasha Vasl. Corrupted by its dark whispers, she sends invitations far and wide to those greedy for power. Only her sibling, E’drasha Rho, stands able to thwart her dark design. Invitation in hand, will you aid her in her quest to defeat her sister? Will you be able to resist the corrupting lure of the Drakkinshard? Find your answers as you work your way through eight new scenarios!
    [IMG] [IMG][IMG]