Free Transfers for Merged Servers starts Thurs, Dec 3

Discussion in 'News and Announcements' started by Roshen, Nov 23, 2015.

1. Juraiya Well-Known Member

Oh, I hope you don't have to delete those characters. :( Like Uwk says, keep petitioning them. Others lost houses and things in houses during the merger, but as far as I know, everyone got everything back eventually. Some of us it took days (or even over a week, in some cases), but it all got done.

They DO have backups, and I can't imagine that they would assume all problems have been resolved and have deleted those backups. That would be foolish, because anyone who hadn't been actively playing at the time of the merger, like you, wouldn't have known to contact them right away.

I used to work in IT, and there are some backups that you know to hold onto indefinitely. This would be one of those.
  2. Arrk Member

What they did instead is place tradeskill apprentices on my characters, and gave me a few Deluxe Tradesman's Satchels. Not even close to getting back what I lost, let alone setting everything up again, but it's something. I don't understand why they couldn't restore from backup and copy over, but they don't explain stuff like that.
    Uwkete-of-Crushbone likes this.
  3. Uwkete-of-Crushbone Well-Known Member

This won't help a bit for your situation (deeply sorry! And seriously, I'd re-petition the re-petition), but one advantage to being the Little Old Kerra Who Lived in the Shoe ("Had so many characters, had to keep them all written down in a spreadsheet" [okay, so it doesn't rhyme, but it's the truth]) is that I have to keep copious records, notes, etc. to keep everything straight. Had the Powers done that crud to me, I would have REAMS of material to wave in their faces (figuratively), indicating precisely what I'd had before and what they needed to at least look in their backup records for, if not restore to me tout suite. >:-/