New to Everquest 2 - starting a Wizard

Discussion in 'Tips, Tricks, FAQs, and New Player Discussion' started by Sh1ntu, Nov 14, 2012.

1. Sh1ntu New Member

Hello :)

I'm new to Everquest 2 - just patching it (nearly done) and I intend to play a Wizard on Freeport (as I hear it has a nice population). What I was going to ask is:

Does anyone have any beginner tips? Both in general and for playing a wizard. The whole AA system seems a bit daunting, admittedly :S I don't want to screw my character over by placing points in the wrong things. Also - with the tradeskills - which would benefit a Wizard more?

Thanks for reading!

- Sh1ntu
  2. napu Member

dont worry about aa's, they are very easy to reset, just spend them on what seems interesting. That said i would advise working towards catalyst aa, you can get that fairly early on and its amazing with ice comet.

tradeskills it doesn't really seem to matter, pick the one that seems most attractive to you. i suppose sage would be handy for a wizard, for cheap spells, i went provisioner though, food that lasts for 6 hours and i dont have to buy it.
  3. TechUp Active Member

For AA's, I'd stick a few points in Magi Shielding (Wizard tab) for starters. It helps mitigate incoming damage which is important for us cloth wearers. Wizards can be a bit "squishy" until later in the game.

If you are running solo, practice body pulling mobs so that you can control how many things are beating on you at one time. Once you get a mob bearing down on you, root with Shackle and then unload on them (leading off with ice spears).

Tradeskill, I would agree go with a Sage so you can upgrade your own spells. I went with a Tailor on mine back in the day but that was because the Mastercrafted gear was good back then and quest armor was meh (at least to level 40 or so).
  4. Properman Member

Welcome to the game, seems like you have some good advice here already. :)
  5. Andiria New Member