Is crafting worth it?

Discussion in 'Tradeskills' started by Sillyfish, Dec 25, 2012.

1. Sillyfish New Member

I'm new to EQ2 and one of the things I'm excited about is the Tradeskill system. I've always enjoyed making gear in other games, but I have a question regarding how it works here.

How good is crafted equipment? In my opinion, the best games give you the ability to make gear that is on par with some of the best drop gear in the game. Make it ridiculously hard to make, but let it be made by people if they try hard enough.

Well, that's my opinion anyway. Can anyone give me the info please?
  2. Deathbecomes Member

Crafted gear, especially with refining and Experimentation prestige abilities, is usually just lower than raid gear. Crafted gear will absolutely give you everything you need until you get to end game. Mastercrafted gear and expert spells will serve you well from 20-90. To fully equip a toon requires 2-4 tradeskill classes so you being new I would suggest finding a friendly guild a decent sized guild will have members who will craft gear for you if you provide the rare materials.
  3. Sillyfish New Member

So it's certainly profitable then?

Also, I heard someone in a leveling thread state that the first thing he does with a new character is get to Craft level 85 to use flying mounts. Can anyone explain what this is and whether it's viable to do so at a low level?
  4. ZachSpastic Active Member

These days you can easily level from 1 to 95 using only quest rewards. What does that tell you?
  5. mouser Well-Known Member

Crafting can be profitable, but you have to really pay attention to the market and what you're doing.

For example, the rare materials will often sell for more than the items crafted from them. Some non-rare materials fetch a decent price at times, while others you can't give away. And these items will change depending on who's farming what.