Why Don't Caster Mobs Ever Fizzle Spells?

Discussion in 'Time Locked Progression Servers' started by Brontus, Aug 9, 2018.

1. Brontus EQ Player Activist

I've been playing EverQuest on and off for nearly 19 years. Not once have I ever seen a caster mob fizzle a spell. Why is this?

Do level one orc apprentices who never, ever fizzle spells, go to a special academy of magic where they learn spells that never fizzle?

The NPC caster is the most deadly, over-powered opponent in all of EQ. We've all seen them cast spells that are impossible to interrupt (such as Complete Heal) despite the fact that 20 melee players are beating on them. Of course, by now we all know and have been conditioned to suspend our disbelief that NPCs seem to live in a world of different spell mechanics when many (despite having a robust resist mechanic that works) are mysteriously immune to stun, root, mez, snare and charm for no legitimate reason.

We also see raid NPCs with special mitigation buffs as well. Some of us have seen dragons cast AoE spells for over an hour that cost no mana whatsoever. Then there's the ability that some mobs have to magically summon players without having to spend mana or incur a cost. The EQ player puts up with a lot of inexplicable and perplexing NPC mechanics and abilities.

Player casters experience fizzles all the time, yet NPCs casters never fizzle. Was this an oversight on the part of the original EQ dev team to forget to include this? How hard would it be to implement this?

I realize this is a small thing to fix in the grand scheme of things, but it making NPC casters fizzle spells would help increase the verisimilitude in EQ. Thanks for listening :)
    Fle2ch likes this.
  2. Bobbybick Only Banned Twice

Charm a caster mob and let Thought Horror Overfiend land Feeblemind on it.
  3. CaptainSkeet Augur