Two Returning Players - Class Recommendations

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Cheeb, Apr 21, 2017.

1. Cheeb New Member

I'll try to keep this short and sweet.

Neither of us have played on the Live servers much past GoD/OOW. We've been playing TLP for a bit but we're thinking about returning to Live to see all the changes, new zones, systems etc.

My question is: If we're wanting to do group content with both of us being content with 2-3 boxing, what would be a solid group setup keeping boxing in mind? Can we get away with each 2 boxing and running a couple mercs?

Thanks in advance for any info you can provide. Cheers!
  2. Tucoh Augur

I box a war/bard/mage/berserker/cleric, all my advice is for level 105 and I'm not an expert outside of those classes, so take what I say about other classes with a grain of salt.

1. Yes you can do just about everything except a couple TBM missions with a boxed group.
    2. I'd say your ideal group is one you enjoy, without knowing what you want to play it's tough to say what will be best for you.
    3. The cornerstone to a group is a tank, any group with a real tank is generally better than any group without one.
    4. The biggest consideration is whether you want to do it with healer mercs. Unless one of you wants to go all out on configuring your box team, I recommend the tank doesn't control a healer. The benefit for healing extends beyond being able to replace a healer merc with a DPS, your healing throughput and mitigaiton will be much higher than a healer, which enables you to tank and do content you normally couldn't. It also gives better ability to do areas where you can't use a healer.

5. Generally you either want tank/utility/dps/dps, or tank/utility/healing/DPS. You definitely want a tracker in any configuration.

6. In terms of top box group classes, here's a quick breakdown:

tank:
    war: good group tank
    sk: best group tank, requires more supervision than warrior

utility: