trying out live server, questions

Discussion in 'Casters' started by select21, Dec 31, 2016.

1. select21 Journeyman

My eq experience has been from '00-'03, then again when the Lockjaw opened last year for about 3 months. I haven't played the live server at all.

So i've been boxing a BL/Brd/Dru on Lockjaw and have been just wanting to see the "newer" side of EQ. Also I've been wanting to box some pet classes for some ultra relaxed playing. My other box team is fairly involved.

So to my questions:
    1. How strong on pets on live vesus tlp? Can I rely on them to tank for me or will they die fast?
    2. How fast is leveling on live versus tlp?
    3. What pet box would you recommend? Would mage x 3 work well or would you mix it up with like a mage/nec/ench?
    4. Any other advice for a complete newb to the live server would be great.
  2. IblisTheMage Augur

3 & 4:

I have tried mage x 3, and it was not that great. I currently play mage/bard/enchanter, which is a really good combo. I use IS-b_oxer, and melee with the bard as well (it takes 2-4 sec pr mob to position), and use the chanter for runes and CC. Later I plan to nuke as well with chanter. The mage pet tanks single mobs really well, with runes and maxed pet AA. The problem is multiple mobs, which is the reason I have the chanter. The bard can also help out with CC, but as you play the team, you build a feel for which tools to use when, obviously. I can do a Gribble in about 20-25 min, which is fine, it allows me to jam in 2 Gribble handins in a single Lesson. In EoK, I can hold my own as well.