The famous 7 Ps

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by Pusur, May 21, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pusur New Member

PPPPPPP - Proper Prior Planning Prevents Piss Poor Performance. Says it all really.

1 day patch extended to nearly 2. New patch this evening to fix the previous f**kup.
    This is seriously embarrasing.

1. NEVER EVER do such a huge change to a system without doing it ALL in a lab prior to working on live systems. If lab setup has problems - you DO IT AGAIN in the lab. Repeat until you are certain you got all the problems out of the way. THEN and ONLY THEN do you plan for a live change.
    2. Its blatently clear that this was NEVER tested in a lab prior to pushing it live.
    3. When patches and changes to the system are rolled out there shouldnt ever be any "oops" or suprises. EVER! If there are, you f*cked up the planning part - see 1.
    4. Im an ISP tech and if i f*cked up this hard id get fired for sure.
    5. Hitting the submit button and sticking your head in the sand hoping for the best is NOT the way to do such things.
    6. With proper preparations you SHOULD have been able to estimate the actual downtime to within 30 minutes and HIT THE MARK.

Sorry for my language. I tried to use * as much as possible.
    If this offends anyone other than DBG i am also sorry, not my intention. Just airing my frustration over lack of competence and outright disrespect for a few thousand paying customers.
  2. martanio New Member

I will start off by saying that I believe you are correct. There are way too many bugs that are not caught before they reach live servers. That being said, I have a couple of comments.