splitting a formal dinner party

Discussion in 'The Veterans' Lounge' started by shimmer, Apr 5, 2020.

1. shimmer New Member

I started 3 heroic toons; warrior, shaman and bard.
    It's been a fun trio and I have been able to handle most of the things I've tried.
    I'm having a lot of difficulty with A Formal Dinner Party, though.
    I'm a rookie with the bard but pulling most places it is pretty straightforward with the tricks available. In the Dinner Party mission, however, the mobs are aggro linked and I can't figure out how to split them. I've tried mezzing, tried slowing then fading, don't have sonic displacement yet. Pretty much whenever I get any aggro I have 6 on my extended target list.
    At lvl 88, the warrior is not able to handle 6 at a time (mobs are yellows and whites).
    I've always done this mission with my enchanter and just AE mezzed the pile. The bard's AE mez is not nearly as reliable (I don't know if this is a level issue or if bard AE mez just doesn't work as well).

Any ideas to split this with the toons available?
    I have a lot to learn with all of these characters so any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks!
  2. Maedhros High King

bring a bigger tank.
  3. svann Augur

You would want silent displacement anyway, not sonic displacement.
    Mez should work if you are patient. Mezz one, fade, mez another fade, etc. There arent any 6 linked mobs. I dont think there are more than 2 that are hard linked together, but you are seeing social agro. I think the linked mobs are the ones dancing together. Since you are having trouble, have the party stay well back even in the back cubby of the entrance Give yourself some room to experiment. And if you have a merc healer be sure to set yourself as puller. Pacify helps too. Sometimes you can split mobs by pulling around a corner then fading, or fade and hope some walk back before the others.
  4. Conq Augur