Specialized magic: Shaman

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Thomasofold, Nov 30, 2017.

1. Thomasofold Elder

Hey, just was reading that you can only specialize in one magic? It shows right now all the skills out of 150. Will they just not reach that total? Or did they change it?

If I can only choose one I think probably alteration (heal)? Or should I go for the battle one (evocation?)

Im a level 30 Shaman Ogre
  2. Xyroff-cazic. Director of Sarcasm

Once one of the spec skills goes over 50, it will change the cap of the others to 50. So initially only one spec skill can go over 50. There's also an AA at level 55 Secondary Forte that allows you to raise a second spec skill to 100 cap. The caps will go up later with higher levels, but your caps will always be main spec > secondary spec > the rest of them. I'm no shaman expert, but I would assume alteration as your first spec. If you end up wanting to change your spec later there is a simple quest called Respecialization to reset it.
    Thomasofold and Tatanka like this.
  3. CrazyLarth Augur

Shaman's have two real choices: Alteration and Conjuration.
    Conjuration is mainly useful for Shaman's who solo or kite a lot. This is a good Specialization to take if you plan on soloing up until around level 35, or plan on using DoT's a lot.
    Alteration is used for almost all of the Shaman's buffs, heals, regenerations and the like. These are used mainly in downtime, but you can save a great deal of mana with using this as your Specialization.
    Alteration is a pretty safe bet, but if you attack more, and enhance less, then Conjuration is still worth considering.
    http://everquest.fanra.info/wiki/Arcane_specialization#Shaman
    Thomasofold likes this.
  4. Tatanka Joe Schmo