returned player, wizard questions

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by Hungry Dark, Jul 1, 2014.

1. Hungry Dark Journeyman

So I came back after about 10 years gone (last I remember, I think GoD was the newest expansion), and I've been playing a wizard for a couple of months. It's been fun, although I'm hammering out some issues with All Access and all the confusing information out there about subscriptions, expansions and whatnot.

At this point, though, I'm generating some questions about Wizards that the now-sparse population doesn't seem equipped to answer, so I thought I'd ask them here. My wizard is currently level 78.

1) The Flashfires line. It has a backlash effect, and I know the effect dots me, but it also has a cast counter (it seems to poof if I cast my big fire nuke, although I'm not 100% certain about that). Just what does the backlash effect do besides dot me? Zam is woefully unhelpful here.

2) Does Tonic of Resonant Fire stack with Pyromancy? What about Fury of Ro? I seem to use fire, mostly, so this is a concern, but I have trouble telling spell info from Zam and Lucy apart. I don't want to buy tonics if they block my better DPS abilities.

3) Which of the Frenzied Destruction AAs is generally most popular? I've been using Prolonged... I figure if I'm going to spend extra mana, I may as well get ALL the bang I can for my buck, so to speak.

4) Chaining nukes. I've been chaining Chaos and Wildmagic (with Force of Will AA) until I get Gift of Mana, and then casting my big fire nuke. However, some wizards suggest I just chain my best big nukes (in this case, Sothgar's Flame and Ethereal Conflagration), as the downtime I experience would be minor compared to the increased kill rate. What is generally the more effective method overall?

5) Just what IS the damage of Mana Burn, Blast, Blaze and Volatile? At what point is it worthwhile to use them? Do I keep them all on-hand or just the biggest one?