Question about what 100% really is

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by DamnataAnimus, Sep 13, 2017.

1. DamnataAnimus Elder

I've been playing for about 7 months now and still am unsure what 100% (as in 100/100) means in game.

For example as a warrior I have several skills that increase riposte dodg etc by 10,000% which I'm assuming equates to a to 100% chance to riposte dodge or whatever.

On the other hand as a mage I have an aa that gives 20% spell haste which is a true 20% faster casting speed.

And again on my warrior her pants have ferocity 21 which gives this:
    Slot 1:Increase Chance to Double Attack by 18%
    Slot 2:Increase Min Hit Damage by 200%
    Slot 4:Increase Chance to Triple Attack by 30%
    I'm assuming those are like the mages aa and give a absolute increase of that %

It's rather confusing on one hand we have 10,000% on the other 20?

Just seeking a little clarification on this.
  2. Riou EQResource

They just go into different parts of the formula, the various site Parsers are player made to "dumb" down the raw data, some stuff they are probably still too confusing about though

For example for riposte

(((SKILL + 100) + [((SKILL+100) * riposte%parserlists) / 100]) / 50) + [(hDex / 25) - min([hDex / 25], hStrikethrough)]

All of the Avoidances except shield and staff block will use a variation of this, those are just value / 100

10000% is basically set to mean a guaranteed success
  3. Scorrpio Augur

Percents are usually relative. If total cast time of a spell is 5s, 20% haste takes it down to 4. (It takes 80% of base time now). But say you already had 20% haste from other source. An additional 20% focus would not mean your spell now takes 3s (60% of total). Rather you get a 20% reduction off the 80%, which is an additional 16% (in all, 36% off total)