New to being a monk

Discussion in 'Melee' started by Atsuhiko(Toyama), Mar 27, 2017.

1. Atsuhiko(Toyama) New Member

as the thread title states, I am new to being a monk, but I created a heroic character monk, so I need to learn how to maximize my dps in a hurry and how to pull, as I want to be a useful monk as well as a raid monk. Can someone give me a run down of all the things I should have on my hotbars(I'll create as many hotbars as necessary) in what order to use them, or when to use them, or if there is already such a post somewhere, then perhaps someone could link it in a comment please? I already know I might get some hate for making a heroic character, but I want to learn quick, so I can be useful. Oh, if it helps to know, then I was playing everquest for about 7 years as a paladin named Rarcodor, which I name changed to Toyama. I never played any other class all my time on everquest, and when tanking became to stressful for me I was too burnt out to make a new class, but since Daybreak has given us free heroic characters I have returned because I do not like being lol
  2. Acinonyx New Member

You probably do not want to hear this, but speaking from experience, I suggest scrapping the whole Heroic idea. I would say otherwise, if you had an inkling of how to play a monk. But as it stands now, based on your own post, you have zero clue on what is going on. You'd be more of a hindrance on a raid than an asset, and just another XP-sponge in a group that would be better filled by a DPS-mercenary sans the camaraderie.

If you were to just start a level 1 monk, and learn from the ground up, you would benefit immensely, and be of more value to your group/raid.