New Player Mangler Tips

Discussion in 'The Newbie Zone' started by SirKenshin, Sep 26, 2019.

1. SirKenshin New Member

I started playing on Mangler last week trying out different classes (warrior, enchanter and wizard) and seem to have issues finding a group to go with around level 7. At this level the starting area offers a combination of nothing to a pitiful amount of xp per kill. When I try to solo higher level stuff I get killed since I do not have any twink items. I've tried to find folks in Greater Faydark and Crushbone but there has been no signs of an active group. Since I started so late on this top heavy server what are your recommendations? Thanks!
  2. Fluid Augur

Two best characters on a TLP server to start with are a Druid or Magician if you either intend to solo a lot or are forced to solo because of conditions. I say this only because they are the two character types that are the least equipment dependent.

This is not to say they are the best long term or in a group or desirable, just that they function well to get a leg up. Druids don't get strong until level 10 when they get SoW and Stinging Swarm. Magicians out of the box are pretty tough right from the start because they get good pets. There are other characters that are pretty strong out of the box, like a Dark Elf Necromancer. Problem is they are unpopular with the NPCs so limited in where they can sell and train: Just not worth it to me to suffer the penalties.

One of the variations I use is start a Magician and buy them a buy them a large sewing kit ASAP. Train to max in Tailoring with your guild master. Buy a pocket full of patterns like gloves or sleeves or whatever is available on your local vendor. Hunt mostly stuff that drops ruined hides and convert them to armor because you will get a little more pp then just selling the hides. If you find any hides on vendors, buy them and convert them too as there is a little profit to be made.