New Heroic Enchanter at a loss for nonperformance.

Discussion in 'Casters' started by MMORogue, Feb 12, 2019.

1. MMORogue New Member

Returning to EQ after quite some time, I played for a while and fondly recall the shift EQ gave me from the MUDs I played forever like Dragonrealms. Played EQ2 through the then current end-game with nightly raids for a long time - no desire to revisit that.

I have been playing FTP for a couple months dabbling with several different classes. I decided to subscribe and use a heroic character slot I had from I don't know where. I applied the heroic "upgrade" to my gnome enchanter.
    I have gone through multiple guides (I know some of the previously good ones are deprecated due to time and changes) and videos (the ones I could hear at least).

I feel rather inadequate playing my enchanter - most likely because I am - and could use some help identifying where I am going wrong. I was able to muddle through the JV merc quests, but it has gone poorly since then.

The pet seems pointless, it is getting one hit the moment I have it engage a rooted and debuffed mob. Charms are not holding at level for very long and melt fairly quickly only fairing slightly better than the pet. With a cleric merc, I seem to be able to rune tank single at level mobs, it takes forever and I end up with long recovery times and have to rebuff after each and every fight. Root rotting is only slightly better in that all my runes and health are not gone after the fight, but it takes ages to burn down a single mob.

I have the heroic issued gear, JV cleric merc and the following buffed / slotted.

Buffs:
    Veil of Mindshadow AA
    Shield of the Void
    Prescience
    Speed of Erradien
    Intellectual Superiority
    Umbra
    Polychaotic Rune
    Pearlescent Rune
    Dermal Brimstone
    Aegis of Xadrith
    Twincast Aura
    Mana Reiterate Aura